Przejdź do treści strony

War is Hell – Concert


1.09 godz.18:00

Lidia Zielińska – Nie podoba mi się to (I don’t like it) for ensemble, electronics and choir of young amateurs (2018/2019, 1st performance of ensemble version)
Olga Neuwirth – Maudite soit la guerre – A Film War Requiem for ensemble, electronics and film projection (2014, 1st performance in Poland).

Both compositions on the programme complement each other in commemorating the 80th anniversary of the outbreak of the Second World War. The work by Lidia Zielińska includes sung and recited texts illustrating the process which leads to acts of aggression and wars – from gossip through hate speech. Olga Neuwirth, one of most outstanding composers of today, wrote her Maudite soit la guerre as music to the 1914 anti-war silent film of the same name by Alfred Machin (English title: War is Hell).

Performers: Chain Ensemble, Andrzej Bauer – conductor, Lidia Zielińska i Mateusz Ryczek – electronic sound projection, young amateurs prepared by Sławomir Wojciechowski and musicians from the ensemble.

Chain Ensemble:
Julian Paprocki – clarinet, bass clarinet
Bartłomiej Kacperski – trumpet
Jakub Gumiński – trombone
Wojciech Błażejczyk – electric guitar
Adam Kośmieja – synthetiser, sampler
Anna Kwiatkowska – violin
Rafał Zalech – viola
Mikołaj Pałosz – cello
Miłosz Pękala – percussion
Lidia Zielińska, Mateusz Ryczek – electronics
Andrzej Bauer – conductor

In cooperation with


Financed by: